Elaborating on “Not fine”.

Standard

So I have taken a few days of the PhD stuff, a day or two off work.

Why?

The times when I have been up and about, I have been preoccupied, and forgetful.

I have got bugger all done with the PhD.

Twice this week, I forgot I had patients.

Twice this week, I have forgotten where I parked my car and spent nearly an hour looking for it. While looking for it, I just wanted to lay down on the ground and go into the foetal position. Sometimes I stop, look around, scratch my head.

So. Much. NOISE. Can’t focus. So I forget. And all I want to do is lie in bed with the doona over my head, and I have done just that.

I have been fighting all year to feel good about myself despite some major things happening. I thought that I was getting the hang of it.

Why, why did I lose that feeling? Nothing really has changed.

Here I am, about to find out.

One response »

  1. Enjoy the time under the doona. You don’t have to be on top of things all the time and you do have to allow yourself some time to adjust to a good mental state. Don’t let anyone make you feel like you have to apologise for it.

Leave a Reply

