Nearly….normal?

Standard

People said that it would be better once I moved out into a new place.

It is. At the moment, it is.

Of course, I feel sad about everything. It is more of an “oh yes, that’s sad” than an absolutely crushing, “I don’t know if this is going to get better” feeling. And there are moments of real happiness there.

Such as when my housemate made me a sandwich to take for lunch.

And when I went to the bank to change over my accounts, and get some financial advice. I had to explain my new….ahem…circumstances. The lady banker was kind, motherly even.

I am enjoying the new ‘hood. Lots of nice cafes and shops.

I am thinking ahead enough to make a to-do list, and getting stuff ticked off it…slowly. There is stuff to be unpacked, but a little is occurring every day.

I have met up with my boss (who is recovering from cancer, it is good to see her well) and I have sorted out next year’s job – this was weighing on my mind.

Running.

I have some hills near my new digs, and I took the opportunity to have a run up and down them, yesterday. The 4 laps of prinny did not materialise with the weather forecast.

And the marathon….the marathon…..I have been thinking about how I am going to train for it.

I don’t want to do all my training on my own.A. It is lonely. B. It is hard to be motivated. C. It is lonely and hard to be motivated. D. I respond well to encouragement. So I have decided to join up with a group. I have previously trained with them and had good success. I am looking forward to starting. I have to get my “base” up before in-earnest training begins.

Some things are daunting at the moment. A lot of lip service is paid to believing in yourself.

I might actually benefit, I thought, from doing everything I have to do day by day, and then the big day will eventually come. I can be confident, then, that I have put the yards in.

My “other” (nice) to do list:

  • I would like to buy some red lippy. I already have mac rebel. I lost my other red lippy.
  • I would like to go to Sydney – see the Picasso exhibition, visit other bloggers, go to Aria.
  • I would like to go to a music festival. I have never been to one.
  • I would like a nespresso pixie machine. No more mess, or rogue coffee grinds.
  • I would like to try zoom teeth whitening. Just do.
4 responses »

  1. Glad you are a little less sad! And yes, I agree it would be a very good idea to join a group. When I ran my one and only marathon, the Saturday morning group was the only way I got through the long runs. It is incredibly hard to motivate yourself for a 30+ km run on your own, or at least it is for me.

  2. You have never been to a music festival? OMG what did you spend your youth doing?

    We have the Lavazza coffee machine. Same kind of set up I think. The pods are good but it’s a bit of pain when you run out – you can only buy ours either online or at Myer.

  3. Good to read you’re feeling better in a new place. 🙂
    I cannot recommend music festivals. Try it for yourself… but if you’re not into drinking, dirt, drunk people, more dirt and camping in the middle of it all, I’d say it’s nothing for you. Neither it’s something for me. But the music was great. 😀

Leave a Reply

