Another Champagne?

Standard

Don’t mind if I do!

Singapore has some lovely places if one cares to look, to pay attention. Just random things, put on walls of shopping malls.

I saw: “Always remember to be happy, because you never know who might be falling in love with your smile”.

Also, more importantly: “Life is not the amount of breaths you take, it’s the moments that take your breath away.

I have had quite a few of them, recently. Not from running, either.

I have travelled the world but this is the best holiday I have been on, because I have been me, me engaging with the world. I engage with it well.

So, not to rub it in or anything, today, I checked out of the hotel, which was a fantastic hotel (Studio M, near Robertson Quay, for anyone interested). I woke up late, took breakfast, got up, packed. I sat myself out by the pool and read and listened to music and watched clouds pass. The sun shifted, so I was laying out of the shadows, and I developed a nice golden tan. When I got too hot, I went and did some paddling in the pool. I repeated this a couple of times. Then, when it got too sunny, I went and sat on one of the couches in the shade, and fell asleep in my bathers.

It was bliss. Pure bliss. No money spent, no chocolate eating, just pure, mindful idlness.

As I had said in my previous post, I scored an upgrade to Business class for the leg home. The Emirates lounge in Singapore airport is amazing, far superior to Qantas. I got taken to the airport in a merc, was met at the door of the airport, had my bags taken to check in, and did not have to queue. I went into the lounge and had a buffet dinner, which was amazing. Even more amazing was the free bar (2 glasses of champagne, proper champagne, thankyou very much) and I watched the planes land. I am about to board the plane, but have to get a bottle of perfume I had my eyes on on the way out.

I have not been lonely, nor bored. I have been myself. I am a new woman. I am sure the next few months will be hard but I am prepared for that.

Casie, welcome!

2 responses »

  1. This sounds like a wonderful experience! Feeling in congruence with yourself is the best thing that can happen to you, no? Because then you are at home with you, and you take that feeling of being at home wherever you go. And if you travel this way, it means you make the world your home, instead of running away from who you are. Another glass of champagne on that! 😀

    Thank you for sharing the quotes, they are beautiful (and wise)! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shout out and your comments on my blog! High protein is a tough one for vegetarians, but I’ll be making an effort to get more into my daily intake.

    It sounds like the new woman is ready to tackle the challenges of the coming months.

Leave a Reply

