Glowing good health.

Standard

This is what I want. Right now.

I sit here, after Easter pleasantries with my four favourite people (hubby, mother in law, mum and dog). We had tacos, wine and chocolate eggs. The second night of profligacy in a row.

My oesophagus is burning from the wine. I feel seedy. My sinuses are throbbing. I feel sick from the chocolate. I have been a bit bunged up (ok TMI). Blerk. Enough.

I know I am healthy, I feel good most of the time. I have beaten depression and stared down the eye of a binge eating disorder. I have muscles where I have not before (and I may often be found stroking my guns or showing them off to unsuspecting people). I have harnessed the power of protein for keeping my hunger at bay, andΒ  freed myself of the need to eat potatoes EVERY SINGLE NIGHT. I eat vegetables with every meal (spinach in the smoothie in the morning).

Indeed I have come far, and credit where credit is due etc.

I want to be MORE healthy. Full of energy, skin glowing, free of sinusitis, free from the crunch in my right knee every time I bend it. I want to feel clean and energised after meals, not yuck. I hate having to take acid pills for my stomach – I am on enough pills.

The plan:

  • keep alcohol to a minimum – 1-2 glasses once or twice a week, and not the night before training. I need to let go of the feeling that a meal is not a meal without alcohol.
  • lay off the dairy – keep to the soy milk in the coffee
  • keep to 1 coffee per day: it picks me up and then makes me tired
  • Drink lots of herbal tea – it tastes good and clears everything out.
  • keep up with the fish oil and glucosamine
  • Eat a carrot with lunch or for morning tea (keep the bowels happy)
  • Head off to see a naturopath. YES a naturopath. Works in the paradigm of maintaining/optimising health rather than in my paradigm (disease).
  • Get to bed before 10:30 each night.

It is not about restriction or purging, about NOT doing things, but about positive actions and nurturing. This is the big difference.

I want to glow, bubble, effervesce. GLOW, dammit.

Anyone have anything to add?

5 responses »

  1. I used to have a bit of a problem with alcohol, I used it the way you used food, often with a mersondoyl to really help me zonk out.

    I can have it in the house now without feeling the need to drink the whole bottle in one go, but if I am feeling vulnerable I don’t keep it around.

    So I suppose if you are feeling vulnerable don’t have stuff around that is just going to make things worse.

  2. It sounds like a plan, especially with the attitude that it isn’t about not doing things. I’d be interested to hear how you go with the naturopath though, something I’ve thought about but never done.

  3. “We are what we repeatedly do,” as the ancient rock god Aristotle put it πŸ™‚

    Speaking from my own experience, when it’s all about bringing MORE into your life, doing really positive things that are going to add to your enjoyment of life and make you feel happy, then that is far more likely to stick for the long term. The minute one feels deprived, well it’s game over.

    I get where you’re coming from, 100%. About six months ago I was feeling pretty good about how far I’d come, I knew I’d relaxed a bit on the old exercise front but I still felt healthy and happy, but I wanted more. I wanted to glow. I wanted more energy. That’s why, for me, the marathon was a godsend because I had a goal, I had a deadline, and I had something to push me out of the comfort zone that I might not have otherwise chosen to do, that would motivate me to feel as good as I possible could – and I was surprised by how happy it made me in the process. It was such an enriching experience, almost spiritual in some ways. And now that I have experienced life at my physical peak (I’d thought a few years I’d hit it but boy was I ever wrong!) I am more motivated than ever to keep it going. The marathon experience proved to me that I can do anything. Anything at all.

    Training for the event also made me realise that I had fallen into a few habits that probably weren’t the greatest – mostly to do with alcohol. I too had the mindset of “this isn’t a celebration meal unless beer/wine is involved!” and it was only once I made the conscious decision to only have a drink the night before a rest day that I realised how easy it was to have a drink after work, before dinner, with dinner, etc πŸ˜› And I had been doing it without really thinking about it. It all comes back to being mindful and doing things consciously. These days, I find that I’m happy after 1 or 2 drinks and I certainly can’t do it all the time! I’d say 5 days out of 7 are alcohol free now. I would rather go for a 10k run the next day and have a clear head for it. Not to say I don’t still enjoy it – I love wine, but I think it has a more appropriate place in my life now, which is as a treat. I certainly don’t feel deprived – which comes back to your original point.

    I think that’s where so many people go wrong when it comes to lifestyle change and healthy living. They think it’s all about deprivation, that they’re going to be missing out.

    Oh, if only they knew. I wouldn’t go back to my old life for all the money in the world.

    Love your work, as always xxx

    PS: How does a carrot assist the bowel, just out of interest? πŸ™‚

  4. I keep my sinuses under control by using Beconase 12 hour spray, take Swisse Multi vits add to that Ethical Nutrients Sinus and Hayfever caps plus Ginseng 5 caps. If I don’t stick to this they flare up so easily, my sense of smell goes and I feel like crap.

    As for the alcohol, I have been sober for 10 years now. Yes it’s hard because others have no idea on how to cope with someone who doesn’t drink. It takes a while but you do start to enjoy a night out without drinking.

    Skinny nails the whole lifestyle change it’s not about the things you take out of your life it’s all about the things you now do that you didn’t do before.

    As with alcohol others react negatively to what you do with your healthy lifestyle mainly out of jealousy because you do and they can’t and they try and make you feel guilty for their own failings.

Leave a Reply

