In the Zone.

Standard

I did some PT this morning, a 1 hour session, then a rest on Friday to rest up for R4TK. It was a ripper session – lots of arm work, some 2 km time trials on the bike and skipping. I really got into the zone with my skipping and biking. We did 4 rounds, and each time, on the bike, I managed to decrease my time. I got my breathing into a real rhythm and was in a bit of a trance-like state -this is the way I will need to run. Pushing the tempo a bit, out of my comfort zone, but comfortable enough. After some circuits we did some boxing.

Yesterday, I did a little circuit at the gym, not NEARLY as boring as doing long spurts on the equipment. I can also take advantage of the upbeat music.

It is actually quite addictive. Off last month’s efforts, I am actually feeling a bit…..funny….if I go a day without exercise.

Today there was a rally in the city to protest the government’s proposed cuts to medical research spending (approx 20% of the budget or about $400 million dollars). We had a speech from Adam Bandt, a young sufferer of Parkinson’s disease, a recipient of a double lung transplant, the head of the Walter and Eliza Hall medical research institute. There were concurrent rallies around Australia.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am passionate about my work, as were all of the other people there – they do it for the love and could earn much better money in the private sector, with better job security.

I did some yelling and screaming and clapping with the crowds – felt great to be a part of it. There were some great placards, like “Julia and Nicola, we will cure your dementia (no, really)” and”Back off man, I am a scientist”.

And in response to the posts from yesterday, I also believe strongly about the NBN – faster internet connection (ie faster than wireless) will, among other things, revolutionise the way we deliver medical care to rural and regional communities – already, professors of medicine in the cities are being wheeled around on a computer screen to patients in whoop whoop, rather than having the poor overworked GP scratching his head.

I could go on about the way this country is going to hell in a handbasket – I am fully with Em on the chaplaincy in schools.

and bethlin from texas, welcome!

5 responses »

  1. Don’t get me wrong Cilla, I too am all in favour of improving our internet speeds so that eMedicine can move forward, so everyone can have access to the best medical care, my objections are based on the way that we are being held to ransom by the Government to provide the infrastructure. From listening to the debates from the Senate (as I do each day on the radio) it would appear that the people whoop whoop won’t actually have access to the NBN fibre system and will be forced to take either a satellite or wireless option that will operate at a significantly lower speed than fibre one.

    Personally I think there would have been a much better way of improving our internet system without plunging the country into so much debt. It will be interesting to see what the uptake of the new system will be once the free roll out options cease and everyone has to pay for access. I have a sneaking suspicion it will end up like the old analogue mobile phone and TV signals. The Government will turn off the current method of accessing the internet to force the majority of the population to upgrade to the NBN system.

    This is just my humble opinion šŸ™‚

  2. Glad to be here – just clicking through and finding people. šŸ™‚ I almost never write about my work on my blog, but I love my field (though not always my job) – I’m with an IRB, one of the boards that reviews human subjects research for ethical treatment of the subjects in the US. We’re facing some big cuts in higher education and there’s been a lot of talk about how much of those cuts should be in research vs in education. It’s a hard call to make, but how do you look into a sick person’s eyes and tell them that you want to take away something that could give them hope?

  3. Yay for a good sports session! šŸ˜€

    I don’t like that the government tends to skimp on education and research at first. In Germany, it’s very similar. I want to go for an academic career, but I know that elsewhere I would work less and get much more money, and I’d perhaps even have a secure job. Well, I still want academia. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

